List of Counties in Kenya

Before the new constitution, Kenya was divided into eight provinces headed by Provincial Commissioners. In each province, there were districts and divisions headed by District Commissioners and Divisional Commissioners respectively.

With the new constitution, the country was divided into 2 interdependent forms of government. The National Government and the County devolved government.

The National Government is headed by the President, Deputy President, and Cabinet Secretaries. Also in the National Government are the Public Secretaries and the newly formed position of Chief Administrative Secretaries.

The County Government is headed by the Governor and the Deputy Governor. In the County government are also County Executives, Senators, Women Representatives and Ward Representatives (MCA’s).

In every County, there are a number of constituencies which are represented in the National Government by the Members of Parliament (MP’s).

List of the Functions and Departments of County Government in Kenya

  • Education, Science, and Technology
  • Agriculture, Livestock, and Fisheries
  • County Public Service, Administration, and Youth affairs
  • Public Health and Sanitation
  • Transport, Public Works, Infrastructure, and Communication
  • Lands, Housing, Physical Planning, and Urbanization
  • Finance and Economic Planning
  • Water, Environment and Natural Resources
  • Gender, Social Services, and Sports
  • Trade, Culture, Tourism and Cooperative Development

Kenya has 47 Counties distributed in the former eight provinces. Below is a list of the 47 Counties and their former provinces.

Full list of Counties and former Provinces in Kenya

Coast Province

  1. Mombasa County
  2. Kwale County
  3. Kilifi County
  4. Tana River County
  5. Lamu County
  6. Taita-Taveta County

North Eastern Province

  1. Garissa County
  2. Wajir County
  3. Mandera County

Eastern Province

  1. Marsabit County
  2. Isiolo County
  3. Meru22 County
  4. Tharaka-Nithi County
  5. Embu County
  6. Kitui County
  7. Machakos County
  8. Makueni County

Central Province

  1. Nyandarua County
  2. Nyeri County
  3. Kirinyaga County
  4. Murang’a County
  5. Kiambu County

Rift Valley Province

  1. Turkana County
  2. West Pokot County
  3. Samburu County
  4. Trans Nzoia County
  5. Uasin Gishu County
  6. Elgeyo-Marakwet County
  7. Nandi County
  8. Baringo County
  9. Laikipia County
  10. Nakuru County
  11. Narok County
  12. Kajiado County
  13. Kericho County
  14. Bomet County

Western Province

  1. Kakamega County
  2. Vihiga County
  3. Bungoma County
  4. Busia County

Nyanza Province

  1. Siaya County
  2. Kisumu County
  3. Homa Bay County
  4. Migori County
  5. Kisii County
  6. Nyamira County

Nairobi Province

  1. Nairobi County