Political Events in Kenya 2017/2018 

Besides being the largest economy in Eastern Africa, Kenya dominates the region politically. Whenever there are general elections in the country, the region and the entire World focuses their attention on her.

The 2017 general election was unique in its own way by being the first election to be nullified by the supreme court and being repeated. Kenyan’s went to the ballot box twice to choose their president. President Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy William Ruto emerging the winners.

What followed was a series of demonstrations from the members of the opposition being led by the ODM party leader Honorable Raila Odinga and other members of NASA Coalition.

Swearing in of NASA Leader 

On January 30th, 2018, Hon Raila Odinga was “Sworn in” as the Peoples President of the Republic of Kenya in a ceremony which was skipped by other NASA co-principals. The developments saw the deportation of Miguna Miguna who was a self-proclaimed NASA general to Canada.

From his failure to show up during the “swearing in” ceremony at Uhuru park, Hon Kalonzo Musyoka got a lot of criticism from other politicians in the NASA coalition and the public online.

NASA Coalition Shakeup

In the weeks that followed, the Nasa Coalition started facing troubles with some politicians felling left out in the party decision-making process.  This led to a series of press conferences and exchanges between the coalition members and leaders.

Meeting between President Uhuru Kenyatta and Hon. Raila Odinga

On Friday 09, March 2018, President Uhuru Kenyatta and Honorable Raila Odinga held a meeting and later on a press conference at Harambee house. They announced that they had agreed to work together contrary to expectations of many people.

List of the top ten most powerful politicians in Kenya.

Despite the differences between the ruling party, Jubilee and the opposition, NASA, they both consist of some of the most prominent political leaders in Kenya.

These leaders include;

President Uhuru Kenyatta – Jubilee
Honorable Raila Odinga – Orange Democratic Movement (NASA)
DP William Ruto – Jubilee
Honorable Gideon Moi – Kanu
Honorable Kalonzo Musyoka – Wiper (NASA)
Musalia Mudavadi – ANC (NASA)
Ann Waiguru – Jubilee
Moses Wetangula – Ford Kenya (NASA)
Hassan Joho  – Orange Democratic Movement (NASA)
Mike Sonko– Jubilee

Other prominent politicians in Kenya

Johnstone Muthama – Wiper (NASA)
Kivutha Kibwana – Wiper (NASA)
Jackson Mandago – Jubilee
Wycliffe Oparanya – Orange Democratic Movement (NASA)
James Orengo – Orange Democratic Movement (NASA)
Aden Duale – Jubilee

Related posts